top of page

Pools announced for Amsterdam Sevens

Thursday 10 April 2014 Australia will seek to dethrone current champions New Zealand at the final leg of the Women's Sevens World Series in Amsterdam next month. The pools and schedule for the last round of the 2013/14 IRB Women's Sevens World Series has today been announced in the Netherlands. Amsterdam will host the fifth and final leg of the Series on May 16 and 17 in the NRCA Stadium, where last year New Zealand won the inaugural trophy. This year the reigning champions have been drawn in Pool A alongside Spain, USA and Ireland.Their rivals Australia, who are just two points behind the Kiwis in the Series standings, head Pool B alongside Russia, France and South Africa, who take part in the Series for the first time this season.Pool C will see Canada face England, Brazil and hosts Netherlands in a competitive group.Matches kick off around midday (GMT +2) on both Friday and Saturday, with all the action streamed live on Speaking at a press conference to launch the Amsterdam event, IRB General Manqger Sevens, Avan Lee, said: "This year has witnessed some remarkable Rugby during the Women's Sevens World Series, and it will all come down to the final round here in the Netherlands.""New Zealand and Australia lead the standings and I expect the battle will be fiercely competitive and will come right down to the final whistle.""The Amsterdam Sevens has always been a key date on the Rugby calendar here in the Netherlands, and I've no doubt it will be a great event for fans and players next month," he added.The last round of the Series in China saw another enthralling final between New Zealand and Australia in the rain in Guangzhou, with the "Sistas" coming out on top after yet another epic batlle beween the two teams.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page